Tramping in India
A Tramp Talks
Blending In
1
0:00
-4:28

Blending In

If you can blend in while doing street photography, you will become a better photographer
1

My start on the street

When I started photography on the street, I hid behind poles, traffic lights and anything I found. If nothing was available, I leaned against a wall, zoomed in close and pressed the shutter button. I looked away if someone noticed me with my camera and caught me shooting them.

One word described me. Shifty. Yes, I was a sneaky photographer, keen to put a great distance between myself and the people on the street. I was proud of the space between us, believing this behaviour made me a better photographer.

The Growing Distance

Then, I became serious about my corporate career and reduced my excursions to the streets. My hotels transitioned from the awful to the luxurious. From travelling by bus, I started travelling by air and using good cars. I wore suits when needed and ties–even though I believe ties cut off the blood supply to the brain.

In the early days, my distance was spatial. My distance from the action and people on the street added extra dimensions. Snobbishness added another element to the gap between me and the road. The distance was multi-dimensional and not just spatial.

One day my corporate career ended, as it must. I wondered if I should become a consultant, but my heart pulled me back to photography. One day, I photographed people on the streets of the Walled City of Delhi. I don’t know why we call it Old Delhi, but we do.

Going Back to The Streets

At the outset, I fell into my old practice of hiding behind lampposts and traffic lights. I tried to blend in and succeeded. In time, I started having conversations with people. My addiction to the zoom lens and a heavy camera remained. But I ditched the suits and began wearing scruffy clothes.

When I entered the world of the streets, I used an Olympus OM-2n with a 50 mm prime lens. I ditched the prime lens when I bought my first zoom. I own a Nikon D810 with a 28-200 mm zoom lens; This Is the Kit I began using.

When you are on the street and want to blend in, your equipment must not scream, “photographer at large.” If your equipment screams out that word, people respond with a message in their brain that goes, “Photographer–beware”!

Apart from this, the Nikon D810 is a heavy camera. After a day of tramping the streets, you feel the weight.

A Small camera will help you to blend in.

Now, I use a Fujifilm camera. Sometimes I use a Fujifilm X-T4, but often I walk around with a Fujifilm X100V. These cameras are light. When using the X-T4, I decide on my lens before leaving home. The X100 V has one fixed lens–a 23mm prime lens.

You must get close to the action when you use a short lens with a focal length of 23 mm. The camera is small, so people consider you a stupid tourist. Also, a small camera does not threaten people. This aspect is of vital importance.

A small camera allows you to blend in better. When you blend in better, people object less when you get close to them. Small cameras with a short focal length force you to get close to the action. The reduced distance will change your behaviour on the street.

Choose your camera well to blend in and take better photographs.


This podcast is my first attempt at recording my voice. Be patient. It will get better!


Leave a comment

Share


1 Comment
Tramping in India
A Tramp Talks
In this podcast, I discuss my views on photography, the streets, journeys - mostly in India, and aspects of Indian history and society. And maybe a few conversations with people on the street.
I will record some podcast episodes from the street and some from my little office.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Rajiv Chopra